Skip to main content Skip to navigation
U.S. Transuranium and Uranium Registries News

Delegates from the RadCon Convention tour the USTUR laboratory

The USTUR director with delegates from the RadCon tour

Twenty-one delegates (science fiction writers) from the annual RadCon Convention held in Pasco toured the USTUR laboratory to learn about our research program (and ask lots of questions)! The laboratory tour (an annual event) was arranged by PNNL. USTUR was selected as this year’s representative of “Hanford Science.”

RadCon website

2009 Health Physics Society meeting and Landauer Memorial Lecture

The USTUR Director was the Landauer Memorial Lecturer at the 54th Annual Health Physics Society Meeting, 12-16 July 2009, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Stacey McCord gave a podium presentation on the new USTUR Pathology database and Sergei Tolmachev presented a poster titled, “Elemental Bio-imaging of Actinides and Beryllium in Lymph Nodes of Former Nuclear Workers.”

Idaho State University students, George Tabatadze, Nino Chelidze, Dan Mecham, and Maia Avtandilashvili also presented their research at the meeting.

View abstracts and presentations

USTUR director appointed an associate member of EURADOS

USTUR director, Tony James, has been formally appointed as an Associate Member of the European Radiation Dosimetry Group (EURADOS). His specific association is with Working Group 7 (WG 7) on “Internal Dosimetry.”

This appointment followed from April’s Special Meeting of EURADOS WG 7, Karlsruhe, Germany. The meeting was organized to discuss EURADOS and USTUR’s mutual interests in scientific collaboration on the analysis and interpretation of USTUR case studies.

Special Meeting of WG 7

ISU/USTUR graduate student auto-segments case 0102 head phantom

Three-dimensional voxel images for A) all regions of interest, B) cortical bone voxels only, and C) marrow/trabecular spongiosa voxels only.

George Tabatadze, M.S., a Ph.D. candidate in the Idaho State University (ISU)/USTUR Internal Dosimetry Research Group, with the help of medical physicists at the Portneuf Medical Center, Pocatello, ID, has successfully created 3-dimensional voxel images of the regions of interest in the DOE Case 0102 241Am head phantom. He used the complete set of contiguous 2-dimensional CT-scan slice (Dicom) images published on the USTUR web site.

Learn more

ISU student workshop and Health Physics annual meeting

USTUR staff conducted a workshop at Idaho State University (ISU), July 7-9, 2008, and attended the presentations and successful defenses of Naz Fallahian’s doctoral dissertation and Liesl Germann’s master’s thesis.

Learn more about the USTUR/ISU collaboration

Sergei Tolmachev and Stacey McCord attended the 53rd Annual Health Physics Meeting in Pittsburgh, PA, July 13-17, 2008, where Ms. McCord gave an podium presentation on upgrading the internal USTUR health physics database. ISU students, Naz Fallahian, George Tabatadze, and Liesl Germann also presented their research at the meeting.

View Abstracts and Download Presentations

Two ISU students at the 2007 Health Physics Society meeting

Two members of the USTUR/Idaho State University (ISU) Internal Dosimetry Research team, Naz Fallahian and Liesl Germann, are presenting posters at the 52nd Annual Health Physics Society Meeting in Portland, Oregon, July 8-12, 2007.

USTUR’s collaboration with Idaho State University provides ISU graduate students with the opportunity to explore important applications of USTUR data.

Download Naz’s Presentation: Does Exposure to Plutonium Affect Workers’ Longevity?

Download Liesl’s Presentation: Evaluation of the In Press NCRP Wound Model Using USTUR Case 0262 Data

Learn more about USTUR’s collaborative relationship with ISU

Japan Atomic Energy Agency/Environmental Protection Agency Workshop

USTUR’s director (Tony James) is one of 7 US representatives participating in the 4th JAEA/EPA Workshop, Tokai-mura, Japan, November 6 – 8. He will present an overview of USTUR’s research objectives and progress on our current 5-y DOE grant.

Book of abstracts
USTUR’s JAEA paper

Japanese hosts and U.S. delegates at Tokai-mura Atomic Museum – from the left: Fumiaki Takahashi (JAEA); Terry Brock (USNRC); Mike Boyd (USEPA); David Pawel (USEPA); Tony James (USTUR); Evan Douple (NRSB/NAS); Keith Eckerman (ORNL); Sara DeCair (USEPA); Akiro Endo (JAEA); Albert Einstein.