Skip to main content Skip to navigation

2016 Advisory Committee Meeting

Wednesday, July 20


«2015 | Index | 2017»

Quick Links

right arrowAgenda

right arrowAttendees

right arrowPresentations

right arrowRecommendations

The 2016 Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) meeting was coordinated with the 61st Annual Health Physics Society (HPS) meeting in Spokane, WA. The one-day SAC meeting was held July 20 at the College of Pharmacy on the WSU Spokane campus. It focused on operational aspects of the Registries, because USTUR research had been presented the previous day at the USTUR’s special session of the HPS meeting.

Meeting Summary

USTUR director, Sergei Tolmachev, opened the meeting with a general greeting. He was followed by Andrea Lazarus (WSU Assistant Vice President for Research, Clinical Health Sciences) and Patricia Worthington (Director of the DOE Office of Health and Safety). Dr. Lazarus provided an update on the College of Pharmacy, and Dr. Worthington summarized the programs and studies that are funded by the Office of Health and Safety, and stressed DOE’s commitment to the USTUR program. This was followed by a discussion about the DOE Former Worker Program.

USTUR staff gave four presentations, which described progress made toward the USTUR’s operational goals during the past year. Margo Bedell described administrative and financial status of the Registries. Dr. Tolmachev explained how the USTUR has addressed specific recommendations from the 2015 SAC meeting, and briefly looked at the status of the health physics database, accepting registrant donations, radiochemistry, and future research opportunities. Maia Avtandilashvili described in further detail the status of data entry into the health physics database, and Stacey McComish summarized progress toward inventorying samples at the National Human Radiobiology Tissue Repository.

Following lunch, the SAC held their executive session. USTUR staff later joined them to discuss the SAC’s comments on the USTUR’s progress and recommendations for the next year.

SAC Membership

Robert Bistline and Herman Gibb finished their third and final terms on the SAC. Bob’s vacancy on the committee was filled by Arthur Stange. Herman’s vacancy was filled by Heather Hoffman, who has a background in epidemiology and biostatistics.