Washington State University College of Pharmacy

United States Transuranium & Uranium Registries

Previous Registries Directors and Staff

History of the USTUR


The National Plutonium Registry: Initial Staff

W. Daggett Norwood  – The founding director of the National Plutonium Registry. Norwood was a physician whose undergraduate education was in electrical engineering and who had figured prominently in the establishment of the Hanford site's medical program.

Carlos E. Newton, Jr. – A Battelle-Northwest staff member who was a board certified health physicist.  Newton directed the health physics aspects of the National Plutonium Registry.

Dorothy Potter – Served as the secretary and general administrative assistant for the National Plutonium Registry.


1970: Carlos Newton Jr. was given the title of Associate Director.  Newton was a health physicist who provided half-time scientific support to the USTR.  This appointment could be seen as recognition of the health physics aspects of the program.

1972: John A. Norcross became the USTR director following the founding director’s, W.D. Norwood, retirement.  Norcross was a retired U.S. Army physician.

1973:  W.D. Norwood filled in as interim director after Norcross became ill and gave up the directorship.

1976: Bryce D. Breitenstein Jr. became the USTR director on a half-time basis.  Breitenstein was an internist with considerable experience in private practice and a master’s degree in public health.

1978: Robert H. Moore was appointed as half-time director for the newly established USUR.


1980: Margery Swint assumed responsibility for medical support to the USTR and was named Associate Director.

1980: Kenneth R. Heid, a Battelle health physicist, was also named Associate Director as Newton retired.

1982: Margery Swint became the USTR director.

1983: Ronald L. Kathren, a board certified health physicist from Battelle, was added as a consultant and within a few months he replaced Heid as scientific support.

1989: Margery Swint assumed directorship of both the USTR and the USUR as the USUR's founding director, Robert H. Moore, retired. Swint directs the USTR and USUR for only a short time before accepting a promotion at Hanford Environmental Health Foundation.

1989: Ronald L. Kathren became the first person who was not a physician to head the programs.

1990s and Onward

1990: Ronald E. Filipy, a radiobiologist with specific expertise in animal studies with plutonium, was added to the staff.

1999: Ronald E. Filipy became director when Ronald Kathren retired.

2005: Anthony C. James became the director when Ronald E. Filipy retired.

2010: Sergei Y. Tolmachev, the current USTUR director, was promoted from the radiochemistry laboratory manager to director when Dr. James retired.

Anthony James


This page was last updated on October 5, 2010. usturwebmaster@tricity.wsu.edu

USTUR, Washington State University, 1845 Terminal Dr. Suite 201, Richland, WA 99354-4959 USA, 1-509-946-6870 or 1-800-375-9317